Inspired by your limitations

I have written about my Leica M8 many times before…and sure I will write things that I have written in some form or another before, but this camera is truly magical. In many ways that is, but foremost the fact that it has some limitations that put off many photographers of buying an otherwise amazing camera. When I traveled to Berlin by train last month, I decided to take a ‘selfie’ when I saw my own reflection in the window of the railway-carriage. As you can imagine, there was a considerable amount of shake and rattle which asked for a fast shutter speed. Because of the limiting light sensitivity of the M8 I had to improvise, using my knee as a support. Just as with this picture where I had to lean against a wall, the M8 showed me how to take the picture. By doing that, its limitations inspired me as a photographer. How wonderful.

 

 

 

Leave a comment