Fearless joy

I live near an elementary school and being a photographer means that I often work at home and hear the little children having their first break at school. It is truly a joy to hear the children screaming, yelling or just making weird noises. The total lack of fear of being judged by others is another thing I so appreciate in children. It is a quality many of us grown-ups have lost, don’t you think?

When I arranged a photo shoot with a friend and her 5 year-old son not so long ago, I got immediately reminded by her son of the many unique qualities children possess. Because I met his mum not that long ago, this awesome little man and I did not know each other yet. That fact did not stop him yelling my name as he saw me crossing the bridge to the park where we had agreed to meet. What a great way to start a photo shoot!

I have photographed a lot of children and to be honest, I like to boast a little that children feel very comfortable in my presence, even if they are shy in the beginning. I probably have written it before in this blog, but children have an innate ability to sense if somebody is okay. So, when your intentions are not okay….you are not okay. Simple as that!

This sweet boy listened well to his mother and me, but also was very playful and sometimes with a wonderful naughty smirk on his face :-). This is one of the first photographs I took, just a few minutes after we had looked each other in the eye for the very first time. How awesome is that?

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment