The sheer joy for art

Art, love

I recently walked though the National Park De Hoge Veluwe and noticed some remains of which I thought were some bunkers. I got pulled towards it and sat for quite some time in complete stillness. The sun burned on my face and all sorts of sounds emerged from the woods. Later on, when I walked back to my car, I saw a plate on which the story of the remains is told. Helene Kröller-Müller and her husband were keen art collectors and had big plans creating a huge museum in the National Park but when the Great Depression kicked in, they were forced to suspend the build. What supposed to be a manifestation of their love for art, ended in building blocks scattered around. It is now part of the National Trust and the art collection in what is now the Kröller-Müller Museum (also called the ‘second home of Van Gogh’).

This place has an energy which truly resonates with my being….I can’t explain it, but I treasure the feeling nevertheless.

