Appreciate what’s important

With all the focus (no pun intended) on high ISO performance these days, one might be inclined to forget about the other things that make you shoot great pictures. I don’t want to go into a rant, because that is unnecessary anyway. I understand that the aspect of high ISO capabilities can be crucial for being able to take that shot that you otherwise could not have taken. But…..working with both the Leica M8 and Leica M9 but also shooting analog, I have learned to appreciate the limitations of my equipment and to adjust my technique whenever it is what helps me to take that shot. Furthermore, it supports narrowing down my photography to the style and subjects that really resonate with me. Last but not least, it lets me appreciate the unique qualities of the gear I use even more. Naturally, this applies to shooting analog. Although not known for the high ISO performance, the Leica’s CCD sensor designed by Kodak (!) creates a truly unique look. Combined with lenses of Leica or Zeiss the results can be stunning. I don’t want to call this picture stunning, but I like it though. Shot in a very dim-lit room, at ISO 800 and wide open with the wonderful 50mm Summilux lens.Sound

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Appreciate what’s important

  1. Nice piece – good to see that people are still appreciating analogue and not just taking any old shot cos they can!

Leave a Reply

