Jump!

Analog, People, Street

As I was waiting for the subway to Amsterdam Central Station, I noticed a father and his daughter performing jumps and taking pictures with their smart phone. I decided to position myself strategically and to prefocus so when the ‘decisive moment’ happened, I was ready to shoot. I had a nice chat in the subway about analog camera’s with the two afterwards. At one moment the father started to talk enthusiastically about his Canon SLR-which he confessed has not been used for a very long time-after which his teenage daughter started to roll her eyes and staring through the cabins window. When I made a remark to her about that and acknowledged her boredom, she smiled and nodded. Kids can be brutal honest and straight forward :-).

Jump!

2 thoughts on “Jump!

  1. wow, I clicked on that link you provided about the decisive moment.. So good! and the images stunning!
    I love your picture! now if the shape of the dad jumping figure was a little more bright (it is a little dark, unless its my screen) it would been perfect!

    1. Henri Cartier Bresson is one the masters of street photography. Be sure to check out the work of Vivian Mayer as well! Yes, the look of pictures can vary a lot per monitor (I have an iMac). I decided to have the father look like silhouette. Thanks for you comment!

Leave a Reply

